Ignite

November/December 2015

A fresh resource for people who plan and manage meetings, events, business travel, promotions and incentive programs. Providing you with inspiration, guidance and great ideas.

Issue link: https://boomart.uberflip.com/i/595263

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 76 of 93

November | December 2015 | Ignitemag.ca | 75 Photo credits, clockwise from top: Hotel Van Zandt; JW Marriott; W Austin; Mark Knight; AustiNuts: Scott Robertson Since your guests will likely be up early and out late, give them a healthy "to go" energy pack of locally made snacks that include fresh, dry roasted gourmet nuts made without oils, additives or pre- servatives—available in Texas-themed gift boxes. Price $8–35 AustiNuts.com El Chile JW Marriott Hotel Van Zandt W Austin y When I did my site visit for our upcoming 2016 CEM Global Pension Administration Conference I couldn't believe how much the city had grown since we were there in 2006. It's hip, it's happening, and it's filling up fast...don't wait to book a room block! The Austin Convention Bureau helped me hit the ground running. I lucked out on venues: We're in the Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol. Looking at Thurman's Mansion to host a proper Texas barbecue. Tanya Durr, manager, corporate opera- tions, CEM Benchmarking, Toronto A GOOD START WEBSITES: austintexas.org/meet AIRLINES: Air Canada (new daily non-stops from Toronto) aircanada.com, American aa.com, Delta delta.com, United united.com, British Airways britishairways.com CONVENTION CENTRES: Austin Convention Center austinconventioncenter.com, Palmer Events Center palmereventscenter.com DMCS: ATX Rocks DMC atxrocksdmc.com, Kennedy DMC Austin kennedydmcaustin.com, Red Velvet Events redvelvetevents.com, Clink Events clinkevents.com RECENTLY OPENED: JW Marriott Austin jw.marriott.com, The Westin Austin Downtown westinaustindowntown.com CONFERENCE HOTELS: Hilton Austin hilton.com, Hyatt Regency Downtown Austin austin.hyatt.com, Radisson Hotels & Suites Austin Downtown radisson.com/austin, Four Seasons Hotel Austin fourseasons.com/austin, W Austin whotelaustin.com BOUTIQUE/INDEPENDENT HOTELS: The Driskill Hotel driskillhotel.com, AT&T Executive Education & Conference Centre meetattexas.com, Hotel Ella hotelella.com, Hotel Van Zandt kimptonhotels.com OPENING 2017: Fairmont Austin, Hotel Zaza, Aloft Austin Downtown, Element Austin Downtown UNIQUE VENUES: Circuit of the Americas circuitoftheamericas.com, Austin City Limits Live at The Moody Theater acl-live.com WORTH THE SPLURGE: Book a bat cruise at dusk to witness North America's largest urban colony take flight from underneath Congress Avenue Bridge on Lady Bird Lake, home to 1.5 million Mexican free-tail bats from March to October. capitalcruises.com OFF-THE-BEATEN-TRACK IDEA: Explore the enchanted natural beauty of nearby Texas Hill Country with a tour through Texas towns like Driftwood and Dripping Springs, along a wine trail that boasts eight wineries and cellars. discovertexaswine.com COOL GIFT IDEA Bar at The Driskill Hotel

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Ignite - November/December 2015